The Internet of Things (IoT)

What if I say, you can exactly know what’s in you refrigerator right from your mobile without moving an inch. Sounds crazy right? Today, we live in a world where gadgets control our lives. Matter fact, decide what we do. As we know there are three major technology revolutions that have occurred during the modern era, which are the internet that eased the process of sharing and receiving informations, social media and applications which thus helped us communicate better and finally the internet of things revolution.

The IoT is basically connecting your smart phone with almost everything around you via smart protocols and special sensors. Hence, having control of the objects around you without having to be close to them whether It’s your fridge, door locks, car, or even your bathroom’s shower head. Not only that, those sensors will be able to predict what you want before you even command them!

I came across this topic through a radio broadcast I was listening to few days ago and It concerns me as a media student. So I’ve been thinking, should we fear new technology? Will it be a threat to our lives? I personally answer with a yes because regardless of our tendency to go for quicker solutions, I wouldn’t want a life where everything is ready done for me or take decisions on behalf of me.  (Well,… I wouldn’t mind that after a long day at college though.) 

 

Watch this video for more informations:

Author: Dalal Almarzoug

Media Student, PR & Adv.

Leave a Reply

